Stephen G. Adkins, Attorney at Law - criminal defense
GEORGIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE AND DUI/DWI ATTORNEY
Free Consultation
229-469-9578
Review Us
HABLAMOS ESPANOL
Review Us
Criminal Defense
DUI
Traffic Tickets
Personal Injury

DUI sentences for repeat offenders

| Jul 10, 2018 | Uncategorized |

In Georgia, you may be charged with a DUI if an officer has determined you are under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs through a field sobriety test or a chemical (blood or breath) test.

The state’s “implied consent” law imposes penalties for drivers who refuse to submit to testing when an officer has reasonable suspicion that the driver is under the influence.

While sentences often vary depending on the details of the case, the following penalties are typical for first, second, third and repeating DUI offenders in Georgia:

First offense

  • Jail time for up to one year
  • Fines costing up to $1,000
  • License suspension for up to one year
  • Community service of up to 40 hours
  • Probation
  • DUI education course

Second offense

  • Jail time for up to one year
  • Fines costing up to $1,000
  • License suspension for up to three years
  • Community service of up to 40 hours
  • Probation
  • DUI education course or substance abuse treatment
  • Ignition interlock device

Third offense

  • Jail time for up to one year
  • Fines costing between $1,000 and $5,000
  • License suspension for up to five years
  • Community service of up to 40 hours
  • Probation
  • DUI education course or substance abuse treatment
  • Ignition interlock device

Fourth offense

  • State Prison sentence between one and five years
  • Fine costing up to $5,000
  • Felony charge

These are just a few of the typical punishments that DUI offenders may face. The higher the BAC level was at the time of the arrest, the more severe these penalties could be. If you or a loved one are struggling to fight a DUI charge, contact an attorney for help.