Different DUI Penalties For Different Charges

In Georgia, law enforcement agencies aggressively pursue impaired driving offenses — often seeking the maximum penalties whenever possible. At the law office of Stephen G. Adkins, Attorney at Law, it is our goal to provide a strong, effective defense uniquely tailored to the situation our clients are facing.

Depending on your driving history and criminal record, our lawyer will work with the prosecutor's office to find a compromise if possible. It might be possible to get your charges reduced or dismissed altogether depending on certain factors.

In Georgia, DUI offenses can carry significant penalty increases upon subsequent charges. According to the Georgia Governor's Office of Highway Safety:

  • First offense
    • Potentially up to one year in jail
    • Fines of up to $1,000
    • License suspension of up to one year
    • Minimum mandatory 40 hours of community service
  • Second offense within five years of first offense
    • Minimum mandatory 48 hours in jail, up to one year
    • Fines of up to $1,000
    • License suspension of three years
    • Minimum 30 days of community service
    • Mandatory clinical evaluation and possible substance abuse treatment program
  • Third offense within five years of second offense
    • Minimum mandatory 15 days in jail
    • Fines of up to $5,000
    • License revocation for five years
    • Minimum mandatory 30 days of community service
    • Declared as a habitual violator and license plate is seized
    • Mandatory clinical evaluation and possible substance abuse treatment program

Whether you are facing a felony or misdemeanor drunk driving charges, you need a skilled Valdosta attorney on your side. Schedule a free consultation at our firm to discuss your case and learn more about the significant penalties you face. Call us at 229-469-9578 or send us an email.